International Holocaust Remembrance Day: 27.1.2013

Matzah

It is International Holocaust Remembrance Day on Sunday the 27th January!  The most vicious injustice to humankind ever. It never seizes to shock me what one person managed to do to an entire INNOCENT nation! I am not Jewish, I’m Christian, but the God I serve made a promise to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob- a friend of God’s is a friend of mine!

So I decided, in honour of Jewish people all over the world on International Holocaust Remembrance Day, to make some matzah!
I was so skeptical to try this because I was convinced it would flop – I flop things a lot in my kitchen. I replaced all-purpose flour with chick pea flour for a wheat free and gluten free option and I think that was the best decision I made! It is so tasty, the batch I made was supposed to be for snacks for the week but my family gobbled them up as soon as they were out the oven. I’m not kidding – this matzah is better than store bought types! I’m so used to lathering on a layer of butter on matzah but with this one, there honestly is no need!
The awesome thing about chick pea flour is that it doesn’t have the gluten that help breads rise high – which is perfect for matzah!

I always like to keep matzah around the house for communion! Blessed be to Jesus for the special gift of taking communion! And blessed be all Jewish people!

You need:

  • 1 cup chick pea flour
  • A little less than 1/3 cup of water
  • ½ tsp salt (optional)
  • 1 tsp olive oil (optional)
  • 1 tsp chick pea flour for dusting

Method:

  1. Place an oven rack near the top of oven and preheat oven to 475 degrees F /245 degrees C  and preheat a baking sheet.
  2. Dust a clean work surface and a rolling pin with 1 teaspoon flour, or as needed. Place 1 cup of chick pea flour into a mixing bowl; pour the water, 1 tablespoon at a time, into the flour. Stir the water and flour together with a fork until the dough forms a rough ball, remove the dough to the prepared work surface, knead quickly and firmly until smooth, about 30 seconds to 1 minute. I found it quite sticky so add more flour as you need.
  3. Divide the dough into eight equal pieces and roll each piece into a ball. Roll each piece of dough out into a 5-inch pancake, dusting the pancake and rolling pin with flour as needed. Gradually roll the pancakes out to a size of about 8 inches. Let the dough rest for a few seconds before rolling again to the finished size. Be sure to roll from the centre out. They should be very thin. Using a fork, quickly pierce each matzah numerous times, all over and the fork should go completely through the bread. Flip the bread over, and pierce each piece again with the fork.
  4. Remove the hot baking sheet from the preheated oven, and place the matzot onto the baking sheet. Place the baking sheet onto the rack near the top of the oven, and bake for 2 minutes; turn the breads over and bake an additional 2 minutes, until the matzot are lightly browned and crisp.
  5. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Brush a quarter tsp of olive oil onto each matzah and sprinkle with a little salt if you wish.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Matzah2

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

