God’s creative protection

“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress;
My God, in Him I will trust.” Psalm 91:1-2

My first real lesson about God’s protection came when I was about 12 years old. We pray for protection around our home and quote the scriptures, such as being surrounded with a hedge of protection, but if we could see what that protection looked like, wouldn’t it be great?

This did not happen to me, but a Christian lady in my neighbourhood and the story was placed in our local paper. This is one story I have never forgotten as I found it quite profound, and I learned how God’s protection comes in all sorts of wonderful and creative ways.

Almost all South African homes are walled, with gates. This lady was home alone and had noticed three men breaking into her gate and got into her property. She called the police and started praying. All of a sudden, they started running out of the property, having stolen nothing.

They were caught by the police, and when questioned why they did not steal anything but ran away, they exclaimed, “There was no way we were going to try anything with those three vicious dogs she has!”

The lady had no pets at all!

What a creative way God had chosen to protect her because of her prayers for protection that day! We truly serve a mighty and very creative God!
I never hesitate to ask God to place a protective hedge around my home to keep us safe. God’s Word is true and living and he is a shield to those who put their trust in Him!

9 thoughts on “God’s creative protection

  1. optimisticgladness

    Love this story! I love your blog!!!! When I am walking or jogging in our neighborhood, I feel so very watched and protected. One time, I was jogging and praying and I felt, how to describe it, a force field around me, like an invisible umbrella from about 3 feet over my head all the way around me to the ground (but not under me). God takes care of His kids, huh? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Lisette Defoe

    I love the story! I heard one similar once where the robbers saw muscular big men and ran. Of course there was no one, those were angels. I love it! By the way, if you noticed in my profile, we lived in your country for about 6 months in Cape Town and loved it!!! That was in 1998-1999. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Oh yes I saw that you lived in SA but wasn’t sure where! Cape Town is great, unfortunately I’m in Johannesburg and don’t have the pleasure of the ocean! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Tim Shey

    The Lord has a sense of humor when it comes to protection. I heard a story about this evangelist who was in some town leading a church service. After the service, he went back to his motel room. The phone rang. This guy on the phone said that he wanted to meet the evangelist at the bridge on the other side of town. The evangelist went to the bridge and waited for an hour or two. No one showed up, so he went back to the motel.

    A year later, the evangelist was at this church service and this man walked up to him weeping. The man who was weeping said that he was the guy waiting at the bridge; he had given his life to the Lord in the past year and the evangelist was happy to hear it.

    Then the man told the evangelist that he was waiting under the bridge with a gun—he was going to kill the evangelist. Then he asked, “Who was that big guy with you?”

    The evangelist said, “No one. I was alone.”

    “No, there was this big guy with you—about 8 feet tall. And he had the biggest machine gun I had ever seen.”

    An angel and a machine gun. That’s pretty funny.

    “High Plains Drifter: A Hitchhiking Journey Across America”
    http://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2012/05/19/high-plains-drifter-a-hitchhiking-journey-across-america/

    “Hand on the Helm”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2010/03/soldier.html

    “God’s Protection in Battle”
    http://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2012/09/07/gods-protection-in-battle/

    Reply
  4. Pingback: God’s Creative Protection | The Road

  5. Pingback: Does God protect the unsaved? | kingintraining

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

