Does God protect the unsaved?

My husband suffers with aches and pains in his left knee, hip and back from time to time, especially when it’s cold. And if you press your hand to his left knee you can feel a large screw jutting out. That’s because in 2005 he had a traumatic bike accident on one of the fastest superbikes in the world. A traffic cop had decided to sit in the middle of the highway. To this day, he has not provided a reasonable explanation as to why he did that. Okay, my husband was not totally blameless – he was breaking the speed limit by going 300km per hour!

When he noticed the cop in the road he only had 2 choices – smash into him and die or drop the bike and hope not to die. He dropped the bike at 300kph and skid along the highway. He skid so fast that his shoes flung to the opposite side of the highway! He broke his knee and his entire left calf muscle had ripped open. The surgeons had to really stretch the skin to get that wound closed. He had internal bleeding and a massive hematoma on the side of his hip that they had to use a 6 inch syringe to suck out all the blood every few hours. The doctors don’t understand why he lived. They said there was no way a human should have survived that accident.

My husband was not saved at the time.
But he told me a few weeks after the accident that just before he dropped his bike, he prayed for God to put his armour on. He said, “I asked God to put that armour on that you’re always talking about.”

I truly am a walking ambassador for the armour in Ephesians 6. When I first learnt of it as a child that it exists, and works, I was blown away! I am just enamored by it! I just think it is the most incredible blessing God has given us to operate on this messy earth. Really something out of this world. So I’m always talking about it! I should have a mug that reads “So this one time when I put my armour on…” 🙂 

But any way what is my point?

  1. I have always found that speaking of God’s awesome power and telling people my testimonies inclines an ear more than “Bible-bashing” of “you must, you will”. Humans never like a lecture, but they do like a story. Yes you must absolutely always find an opportunity to spread the gospel, but I find this way works for me, as the Holy Spirit prompts. I bring the message of salvation in this way a lot of the time.
  2. My husband was not saved at that time. Did God help him? I don’t doubt that for a second! But does God help and protect the unsaved?
    Was it because my husband believed Jesus exists, even though he had not made the commitment yet, and believed that there is such a thing as spiritual armour that he was protected? Was that faith as a little child therefore honoured? (Matt 18:3)
    Did God honour the husband because the wife was saved?
    In God’s foreknowledge, knowing my husband would one day come to Him, protect him because of that?

Since that incident I have always wondered about the protection of the unsaved. I would like to know your thoughts!

6 thoughts on “Does God protect the unsaved?

  1. Naphtali

    this is just my thinking here; in the case where one spouse is saved and the other isn’t especially if prayer is involved for their salvation, I think yes, God does. For the innocent I am sure God does. If it is willful disobedience, not sure.

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      I agree with you on willful disobedience! I even told my husband his breaking the law by breaking the speed limit was willfully disobedient, so to God he had better give all the glory!

      Reply
  2. drwest28

    Awesome testimony!!! I am so in love with Lord and He just amazes me!!! I don’t believe we will ever fully understand why God does the things that He does…He says in His word that His ways or not or ways or His thoughts our thoughts…Truly even then God had a plan for your husband…Not sure if you two were married at the time but, the bible states that the prayers of the righteous avail much. So, we can stand in the gap and intercede for the unsaved and ask the Lord to protect them…And the bible also states” that For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife, and the unbelieving wife has been sanctified through her believing husband” 1 Corinthians 7:14

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Thank you 🙂 We were not married at the time, but my husband is now saved!
      I also don’t understand the ways of God – just when I think I know something He goes and does something completely different leaving me standing there saying “oh.” Lol He’s great!
      Thanks so much for your insightful comment!

      Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

