The painkillers offered to Jesus was a tactic!

You know what I find interesting? Is that while Jesus was on the cross, the soldiers offered him wine mixed with myrrh – which was a natural pain killer.
And they brought Him to the place Golgotha, which is translated, Place of a Skull. Then they gave Him wine mingled with myrrh to drink, but He did not take it.” Mark 15:22-23.

I have read this passage so many times in my life, but the last time I read it I stopped for the first time and thought, “No hold on…?
Josephus wrote that the Roman soldiers “out of rage and hatred amused themselves by nailing their prisoners in different postures.” They hated Jesus. They were cruel. They took so much pleasure in torturing Him, hitting Him and disrespectfully spitting in His face and now they want to offer Him painkillers? It doesn’t make sense.
There were women in Jerusalem who apparently put this mixture together out of compassion for those being crucified, and the soldiers used it to prolong the criminal’s death out of spite. But I think it’s more than that, especially when it comes to Jesus.

What’s even more interesting is that Jesus refused the painkiller. It begs the question “Why??” I would have gulped it down! But that’s just me. I’m not Saviour of the world.

I believe we are seeing another ‘Jesus tempted in the Wilderness’ scene here! Appeal to the desire to be rid of pain and difficulty by first giving up your blessing! Esau gave up his birth right blessing to rid of his hunger!

Scene 1: Satan steps in to influence the soldiers and take away our blessing.
There is no doubt there was no ounce of compassion on that cross. Satan needed Jesus to take that gall! Why?
Firstly, I think that if Jesus took that painkiller, His senses would have been numbed, and surely that would mean He had sinned?
Secondly, Jesus’ painful death and broken body meant our healing is made whole. If Jesus took that shortcut via painkillers, it makes me wonder which parts of our healing would not be whole today…

Usually in our most difficult, strenuous moments when it feels like all is about to snap, is when breakthrough is just about to happen!
Do we allow Satan to tempt us to give in and lose our blessing that is just in reach, or do we hold on and claim the victory?

3 thoughts on “The painkillers offered to Jesus was a tactic!

  1. Jerry Campbell

    Thanks for helping me with my train of thought. I will continue with my rsearch on pain killers. Is pain necessary for growth? When is it permissible to ease the pain. Is numbing your senses a sin?? The research continues,

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

