Christianese! It’s how we roll!

I really enjoyed the video posted by Vine of Life today on Christianese

I was just having a good laugh on the weekend about how Christians have their own language, and I’m sure most of the time unsaved people have no idea what we are talking about!
Just as I was walking from the parking lot into church on Sunday, one of the church members drove past me and missed hitting me by an inch! Not quite sure what he was doing but I think he realised his mistake because he still looked out his window and gave me a big smile.
My mom commented “My goodness!” While another member of the congregation joked and said, “He needs prayer!” Chuckles all round. While I exclaimed, “Yeah, I don’t want to die now – I’m waiting for the rapture!” More laughs!

Not only do we share a great King, but a ‘secret’ language as well, hehe
Do you have any humorous experiences with ‘Christianese’, Reader?

10 thoughts on “Christianese! It’s how we roll!

  1. bernicium

    I use the words: so anointed, quenching the Spirit, God was really moving, being missional, really felt the Spirit.

    Yeah, I definitely speak Christianese haha

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Thanks for your input – We speak the same language friend! HEHE
      Actually the one the confused someone the most was “spiritual warfare”. They said “Thats an oxymoron? how can you be spiritual and war?” Lol!

      Reply
      1. bernicium

        Lol oh yeah, I always use that phrase too, daily actually haha. I just remembered, I also use the word prophetic pretty frequently too.

  2. Delight in Truth

    I love Christianese… Non-christians get a little scared when they hear things like “are you washed in the blood” or “the Spirit is here” or “lift you up in prayer”

    Also, I love “spiritual warfare”

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Haha yes – about being washed in the blood i once heard someone say “gross” LOL. My aunt said yesterday regarding Dr Kermit Gosnell “I’m not going to comment because it will taint my spirit” hehe

      Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

