Praying for salvation – the charcoal breastplate

I have been praying and fasting for my dad’s salvation. He just does not believe. When we ask him if he believes that Jesus died on a cross for our sins, his response is “I dunno. It’s just a mystery.” But when you try to explain “the mystery” he does not want to hear it. All he says is that he thinks Buddhism is quite interesting because they are peaceful people. He also has a lot of intellectual strongholds that keep him from seeing the true beauty and simplicity of Jesus and His finished work at the Cross.

But this is why I love fasting. It’s extremely difficult at times but provides so much revelation into what you are praying for!

When I would pray for my dad I would see/picture him with this weird charcoal looking thing covering his whole chest. I did not think anything of it because I thought it was just my mind conjuring up images while I prayed.

But it happened every single time I would pray for him. Eventually I said, “Lord, is this my imagination? Why do I keep picturing my dad with that weird charcoal cover over his whole chest?”

I actually never expected an answer, but immediately He answered and said, “Just as I have provided you with a breastplate of righteousness, so does Satan have his own ‘protection’. The charcoal you see is the covering he has placed over your dad to prevent him from receiving My gospel. Look at 2 Corinthians 10:4 – the word for stronghold there is the same as ‘fortress’. Satan has his own fortresses just like I do. That charcoal breastplate is your dad’s fortress so that nothing of Me can get in.”

Looking at the verse He showed me it says “For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds”. Mind blowing right!! I just got this awesome picture of how He truly reigns on His throne. He sees everything and is in control of everything.

So I said, almost to myself, “Oh ok, this is brilliant! I would think Satan would make sure to cover him around his entire body – his back is left completely open from what I see.”

Guess what He said… 

Wait for it…

God is so cool…

 “Cowards attack from the back.”

 Ha! I actually laughed. I can’t get over this conversation! What an eye opener to praying for someone’s salvation! So while my dad is “protected” from receiving the gospel from the front, Satan can keep attacking him from the back, with beliefs in Buddhism, mysteries, intellectualism etc. From what I sensed, that charcoal breastplate is very thick -so there is a lot more fasting and praying that will have to be done!

But God is so exciting!!!
It just amazes me how the Creator of Heaven and earth can come down to my puny little level and give me a glimpse of what is going on spiritually to make my prayers more effective.

God, you are GREAT! There is just no word to describe Your excellence!!

14 thoughts on “Praying for salvation – the charcoal breastplate

  1. Toni Sprandel

    Awesome post! I am so grateful you were able to receive God’s word straight to you. He is an awesome God isn’t He??? I love the times of revelation He gives us!

    Reply
  2. Dreams Of Dunamis

    I am really glad and relieved that He speaks to you like this! (It is so awesome that He does this for His children!)

    Buddha has some really controlling demons associated with it. Very interesting about the charcoal. Our family has seen that charcoal smoke on our hands, after touching something evil, like a buddha idol. It was painful enough, when it was on the hands. I can only imagine how it must ache him to have it all over his chest….

    I pray that the blood of Jesus will spill over onto him, and cleanse that evil shield right off of him. May he soon know the .love of Christ, and hear His voice within him!

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Thank you for that stunning prayer!
      His voice is such an honour for me, such a blessing. I will be 100 years old and Him speaking to Me at His will will still astound me! Blessings to you xx

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Ice Hockey Christianity | kingintraining

  4. Margaret

    I woke up in the middle of the night thinking, worrying, and praying for my dad again and decided it’s time to fast and pray for him. It’s been time, but I guess I let myself get busy and distracted.
    I got up, made coffee and decided to Google “praying for someone’s salvation”…. and here I am.
    It’s interesting, if I was to describe my dad, it would sound pretty identical to your description of your dad.
    Anyway, thank you I feel encouraged and not alone. I feel refocused and a little more hopeful.
    God bless you.
    Margaret

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Divinely Appointed Labourers | kingintraining

  6. Fran

    So many cool things about, ahem, “stumbling” onto your post. It all started with your post on ice hockey. I’m a hockey mom doing an Armor of God Bible study, and I wanted to come home after class and search for anything relating a hockey uniform to the armor of God. I began reading your post.

    In this study, I am praying for my 81-yr-old father’s salvation. His heart isn’t healthy, so I know his time remaining on this earth is especially limited. So, when I saw the hyperlink to your father’s salvation, I clicked on it (still haven’t finished the hockey page, lol!). In reading it, I burst into tears, because your father sounds much like mine. Like your father, I know that something must be blocking my father from seeing the light of Christ.

    Through the vision God gave to you, I am encouraged to pray for God to open my eyes so that I may see what He sees so I can pray against Ol’ Slewfoot’s evil schemes. He speaks to each of us in different ways, and I know He will be faithful in whatever way He speaks to me – so often through “coincidences.” God bless you and thank you for fighting the battle so victoriously by sharing your testimony. The gates of hell will not prevail!

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Hi Fran! So glad the post gave you some hope. It’s quite the war, but I can also recommend an excellent book by Dutch Sheets- Intercessory Prayer! It is so eye opening on praying for someone’s salvation and prayer in general. The gates of hell indeed won’t prevail! 🙂

      Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

