Is in vitro fertilization biblical?

The one question people always ask me, and which is so random, is “is in vitro fertilization biblical?” I have no idea why I am always asked that, I have never needed to do it or spoken about it. I’m afraid I am the one person to not ask. Because my answer is “I don’t know.”

Obviously the Bible does not say “thou shalt not undertake IVF.” Usually with instances like that it is best to look up the topic in question and line it up with Scripture. One of my close friends asked me a few years ago to please fast for a day for her sister who was having the procedure done and really wanted it to take. I was not comfortable doing that as I don’t think I want to fast for something that may be against God’s will. I am not too clear on the medical procedure, so I researched on how they do it and this is my somewhat vague answer.

IVF procedures use a fertilised egg, which means that it is actually a living being already. Usually, a lot of eggs are inserted to ensure the success of pregnancy – the rest are either destroyed or frozen. The ones that are destroyed or not used is abortion.
If the lady does become pregnant, the frozen eggs are also destroyed. Again, abortion. To me, that is a clear cut case of IVF being against the Word of God.
I am not a Doctor, but that is the best way I understand it.

That is one aspect of it. But I always believe in a root cause. God told us to be fruitful and multiply (Gen 1:28), so why can’t some people have children? Is there something spiritually deep or hidden there, or is it just the fallen world we live in? I am sure a book could be written about the different spiritual reasons as to why a perfectly healthy woman can’t have a child. I do feel that the issue is between her and God, and wisdom and an answer could come with a lot of prayer and fasting. It is a very difficult issue.

I remember when my baby was in NICU, a couple had been trying for years to have a baby but the woman kept having miscarriages. They asked God that if it was His will for them to have a baby, would He grant it. She gave birth to twins, yet due to complications both babies passed away. What is the answer to that?!
My one aunt struggled to have a child for eight years and now has three healthy children!

I think each case is unique. Just because one woman could not have a baby due to a generational curse, for example, does not mean it is the same reason for the next person. Each case needs to be taken to the Lord in prayer, and to wait on Him. As a mom, I will never know the heartache of not being able to have a child, and having to wait for an answer must be excruciating. But the important thing, I feel, is to be watchful to not step out of line of God’s Word and will. God then can and will, fill the gap and bring peace that surpasses all understanding to the couple concerned.

8 thoughts on “Is in vitro fertilization biblical?

  1. michaelforkingdavid

    God says in his word: “See now that I, I am he, and beside me there is no other god. It is I who deal death and life; when I have struck it is I who heal.” (Deut. 32:39).

    This means that the giving and taking away of human life is reserved to God alone. Human beings have no authorisation to do these things save that which is expressly given by God. So the giving of human life is lawful by the act of sexual intercourse between a man and his lawful wife. The taking of human life is lawful for the civil magistrate in the punishment of evildoers according to law, or in just war (see Genesis 14; Romans 13:1-7). The wilful taking of a human life in other circumstances is murder. The wilful creation of a human embryo is idolatry where not forbidden by another commandment.

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

