Be NOT still my beating heart

hearts

Do you remember in school when you had that crush, and that crush would look straight at you and your heart would beat quicker, you would get all giddy inside? It was that exciting thought that he/she was interested in you, paying attention to you. They just needed to glance your way and your heart would beat harder.

I read something the other day that really got my heart going knowing God’s affection for us. It was in Song of Solomon which is a love song showing God’s passion for His bride and is so called because Solomon saw it as the most wonderful and important of all the songs he wrote.

The verse that got me was Song of Solomon 4:9 that states
You have ravished my heart, my sister, my spouse; you have ravished my heart with one look of your eyes, with one link of your necklace

I got to wondering what the word ravished meant, realising I wasn’t too sure. But looking it up on Blue Letter Bible, the root word for ravished is ‘to make the heart beat faster.’

This tells us that that Jesus’ heart beats quicker every time you give Him the time of day! Every time you open your Bible! Every time you speak to Him or look His way!
One look of your eyes and only one glance toward Jesus is enough to make His heart race!

Can you handle that? This is how He sees us and adores us. Doesn’t the revelation of how Jesus sees you, how excited He gets when you look toward Him, just equip you for obedience? Just make you want to stay in the Word? Delight to do His will? Make you blush? Even make your own heart beat faster at the thought of His beating for you? This truly cements the verse “we love Him because He first loved us” (1 John 4:19). This is powerful love!

This is my encouragement for today – meet with Jesus every day, talk about Him and to Him a lot, involve Him in the small things too. No matter how busy our schedules, or how small the problem is, Jesus is waiting for you to glance His way. New PictureDoof…doof…doof New Picture Make His heart beat!

14 thoughts on “Be NOT still my beating heart

  1. Tony

    Love the post! We all need to realize the Love that Jesus has for us. When you stop to think of it, it becomes mind boggling.

    Reply
  2. Sharon Natsarim

    Awesome thoughts sister…when I think about us actually meeting one on one in the clouds together…my heart is racing in no time. Yep, blush…I will be blushing all over the place…I hope I can utter one intelligable sentence. The best thing is though, EVEN IF I can’t He will know my heart!
    I agree with you…me? Really?…lol. All praise and glory to Him.

    Reply
  3. journeyofjoy

    Love the title… and the post! Good job.

    I’ve also been meaning to say how absolutely CAPTIVATING the Black Horse on bended knee looks on the banner of your blog! God-Great-God!!!

    Marlene

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Be NOT still my beating heart | Searching For A Firefly

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

