What are you looking at?

Last night before my prayer time, I was looking at the search terms that led to my blog on my Blackberry. Sometimes you find the strangest and funniest search terms that make you wonder how it led to you! But lately I have been noticing terms that reflect the hurts of so many Christians. Last night was no exception- people looking for answers to their problems. Major problems. My heart was burdened, I was so sad and had a lump in my throat. What I realised though, is that people are looking for answers from blogs and not directly from the Word itself. There is nothing wrong with wanting to find an answer, especially from a fellow Christian who has been through the same thing as you. And I believe the Lord allows certain trials to happen to people so that we may learn from each other. I think that is human nature though – we tend to want to run to the quickest answer all the time, instead of praying on it and waiting from the Lord. 

It reminded me of when my daughter was born straight into NICU. She was born with TOFS, which is a fancy acronym meaning her oesophagus did not grow all the way to her tummy in the womb, and as a result needed a massive operation at 3 days old. Most trying time of my life. I was in constant prayer, but admittedly fear would grip me now and then.

I distinctly remember one day when I briefly allowed a “what if” thought to enter my head and Jesus immediately said loud and clear, “No, KIT! Look at me! Keep your eyes focused on Me!” That taught me a lesson. It is so very easy to slip into the worldly knowledge and focus on the negative prognoses of Doctors. The more we keep our eyes on Jesus and keep our focus on Him for the answers, He will deliver and the less fear will grip our hearts!

Encouragement for today:
Jesus wants us to look to Him – 10 verses that show us this:

“My voice You shall hear in the morning, O Lord; In the morning I will direct it to You, and I will look up.” Psalm 5:3

“One thing I have desired of the Lord, that will I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to inquire in His temple.” Psalm 27:4

When You said, “Seek My face,” my heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.” Psalm 27:8

“They looked to Him and were radiant, and their faces were not ashamed.” Psalm 34:5

“Look to Me, and be saved, all you ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other.” Isaiah 45:22

“looking for the blessed hope and glorious appearing of our great God and Saviour Jesus Christ” Titus 2:13

“looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith” Hebrews 12:2

“So Moses made a bronze serpent, and put it on a pole; and so it was, if a serpent had bitten anyone, when he looked at the bronze serpent, he lived” Numbers 21:9

“But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.” James 1:25

“whom having not seen you love. Though now you do not see Him, yet believing, you rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory” 1 Peter 1:8

 

4 thoughts on “What are you looking at?

  1. Pingback: Where is the Tag Police when you need them? | Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

