Bent Bows

“For look! The wicked bend their bow, they make ready their arrow on the string, that they may shoot secretly at the upright in heart. If the foundations are destroyed, what can the righteous do?” Psalms 11:2-3

Satan’s hindrances to God’s plans and purposes in your life can be extremely frustrating but it is almost an encouragement too, because you know you’re on the right track.
Since the beginning of February I had been getting very strange heart palpitations, jumps and flutters that I’ve never experienced before. I had terrible shortness of breath, even when sitting still, and excruciating back pain, especially when I ate. The shortness of breath was making me dizzy too.

I had x-rays on my lungs and all sorts of heart tests done. From the lung x-ray, my Doctor told me I was all clear but had a nurse walk in to tell me that I “have pleural thickening on my lungs which basically means it is affecting my heart and my heart will grow too big for its cavity and I will be on medication for the rest of my life.” I’ve never been exposed to elements or situations that will cause pleural thickening anyway! I didn’t pray though, I ran out of there crying like a baby! Sigh. The only thing I managed to do was rebuke and renounce the words she spoke over me. When I calmed down I only managed to tell God “just use this for Your glory.”
But then I thought, “Oh no, what about the fast for the country? What if I can’t participate now?” Cut a long story short, all my tests came back 100% clear, and another Doctor I saw was quite irritated with the report the nurse gave me and basically said she was talking rubbish! So what’s that about?

Then, everything was working against me to get to church one Sunday after all that, which was the same Sunday that kicked off the 40 day fast for the country. My car decided it wanted the battery to pack up last week Friday, which means I had to send it in for a service. Not having a car was not a worry as I use my husband’s if I need it. But lo and behold, a client decided to call my husband Saturday night asking him to come into his workplace for assistance early Sunday morning! Which NEVER happens! Ever! Now what? My parents were away for the weekend, I needed a car to get to church! I refused to miss church for the world so I prayed; and my friend, sick in bed, rebuked Satan’s hold over this in Jesus name too. Ten minutes after that my husband pulled into the driveway much earlier than expected and said the client called him on the way and cancelled him having to come in! Hallelujah! I grabbed the keys and off I went to church! If Satan got his way I would have missed out on something God wanted to show me during praise and worship about South Africa, which will be my next post…

Satan may be bending his arrow toward you right now, but when he drags you back with difficulties, it means God is counterattacking by trying to launch you into something great! Keep focus. Keep aiming.

“He bends His bow and makes it ready.” Psalms 2:12

7 thoughts on “Bent Bows

  1. Pure Glory

    Sunday was Purim the celebration of the victory noted in Esther over the murderous spirit in Haman who wanted to kill all of the Jews. But for courageous Esther who prayed and fasted along with fellow Jews. The edict remained but God’s favor was with them and Haman and his sons were hung on the gallows that were intended for Mordecai. Sunday was a day of turning the tables against the enemy! Praise God for your victory!

    Reply
  2. Mannyr

    Stay the course sister, the Lord is going to fill your sail to cruise right on through as He is always faithful. I have to rest now, it is a long haul from Phoenix, Arizona to Cape Town.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: God, the gentle Archaeologist | kingintraining

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

