Generational Curses

I adored the subject of History in high school. I always got straight A’s. I love knowing what has happened in the past in order to explain our present.
Which brings me to the topic of generational curses. I believe curses are just like DNA – they get passed down from one generation to the next.
I get very suspicious when something runs down the family line. Statements such as “We have a history of breast cancer”, “We have a history of poverty in our family” or “we have a history of depression in our family” always make my ears prick up. What about patterns of divorce, alcoholism or abuse in families? Countries constantly plagued by war and hatred? Not everything can be attributed to curses. Life happens. But when you start seeing a pattern, when you are following in the negative footsteps of family members before you, you should seek the Lord on it.
There are some Christians who do not believe in generational curses, but I do. I can only tell you what has happened in my own life.

Leviticus 26:38-39 states, “You shall perish among the nations and the land of your enemies shall eat you up. And those of you who are left shall waste away in their iniquity in your enemies lands; also in their fathers’ iniquities which are with them, they shall waste away.” God here was warning Israel that they would be taken away as captives by their enemies if they turned away from Him – they were afflicted by the sins of their forefathers!

“For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me.” Exodus 20:5

“I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live.” Deuteronomy 30:19

From the age of 6 I would have a recurring dream that I was playing just outside our gate and Satan would be walking down the road toward me to get me. I would run inside and hide under the bassinette in my baby brother’s room and dreadfully wait knowing Satan was coming. I would hear his footsteps come into the room and this hand would pull aside the curtain of the bassinette and the dream would end before I could see his face. The dream was terrifying, but the weird thing was that Satan was always dressed in scuba gear and flippers – it never made the dream less scary and I had this dream on a nightly basis. I don’t think I can remember telling my parents about it.

A second more dreadful thing that happened from that age is that demons would consistently come at night and try make me astral flight. I would dream I was in my bedroom and it would always start with the lights going out – into this horrid darkness and I could feel the evil presences around me. At this point I was awake and all of a sudden I would be lying on my bed and I could feel my soul leave my body, going toward my bedroom window. I was paralysed and the only thing I could muster was “I rebuke you in the name of Jesus” over and over until they would release me and I could feel myself coming back into my body. It was gross.

My mother was saved and brought me up to know Jesus. So why did this torment happen to me, especially at such a young age? I believe it is because my great grandmother dabbled in the occult. She would attend séances, read tea leaves, play Ouija board and even had her own poltergeist pet which she dearly named “Adonis”. I mean, she would talk to this thing! Satan had a field day with her and this was his awesome opportunity to take the advantage of the doorway left open to me. I believe that curse from her occult dabbling was passed onto me. What better way to try chain the child of a saved mother before she could grow up into God’s Kingdom one day!
Would I have gone to hell for my great grandmother’s sins? No. But that curse and doorway would have negatively affected my relationship with Jesus and my life.

Thankfully, our Jesus made a way! He has so gracefully made it easy that the nature of a curse becomes a lot less scary and eventually you are able to see it for what it is – the kingdom of darkness’ job description. Identify it, break it and move on.
“But if they confess their iniquity and the iniquity of their fathers with their unfaithfulness in which they were unfaithful to Me, and that they also have walked contrary to Me, and that I also have walked contrary to them and have brought them into the land of their enemies; if their uncircumcised hearts are humbled, and they accept their guilt; then I will remember My covenant with Jacob, and My covenant with Isaac and My covenant with Abraham I will remember; I will remember the land” Leviticus 26:40-42

What I did was acknowledge the sins of my great grandmother- the ones I knew and the ones I did not know about. I asked the Lord to completely separate me from those sins by the blood of Jesus as a doorway had been opened on me for Satan to attack whenever he wanted to. Then I broke any curse that may have been placed on me and commanded any demons to leave me in the name of Jesus. I never had those dreams or an astral projection attempt on me ever again.

Don’t laugh – but I have even broken any possible curses on my RottweilerxGerman Shepherd. German Shepherds are known to have a family history of hip dysplasia, so just in case I prayed over him. How can you not pray for that sweetie pie face:

Diego

We won’t always know what sins our forefathers have committed that may have brought curses onto our lives. In these instances, we may ask the Lord to break them for us.

Another curse I believe is extremely important to consider is if there was Jewish persecution somewhere down your family line. A few years ago my father had commented to me how the Portuguese had a hand in the persecution of the Jews. I was horrified, I do not know the history there specifically. But I immediately confessed those sins and broke any curse on me associated with Portuguese persecution of Jewish people. Remember what God said about those against Israel, “I will bless those who bless you and curse him who curses you; and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” Genesis 12:3

Seek the Lord’s guidance on any curses that may have been passed down to you from family sins. I tend to write them down so I don’t forget. He will help you recognise what may be a curse. Other generational curses could be (obviously not exhaustive):

-Racism
-Alcoholism
-Mormonism, Freemasonry or other satanic affiliations
-Recurring family physical and mental illnesses
-Anger and abuse
-Poverty

I am not the final authority, I can only show you what I have been taught – always consult the Holy Spirit on this. The method of breaking curses is what I have been taught and what the Lord has brought to help me tremendously. However, God sometimes takes a different route with different people, that’s why it is important to seek His guidance – these are just guidelines. At the end of the day, our God still reigns on the throne and whatever your circumstance, He has made a way to break you free from that chain!

You may also like:
Breaking Masonic curses
Obedience the bondage breaker
How to break curses
Curses

 

7 thoughts on “Generational Curses

  1. Delight in Truth

    Fascinating to read your testimony… I would like to offer a word of encouragement…

    As I looked around on your page I saw one of my fav verses in the Bible:

    Romans 8:16-17: “The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs…”

    This is a critical verse when it comes to occult influence, spells, sorcery, etc… Once you have the Holy Spirit indwelling and filling you, once the work of the Holy Spirit has started doing His work in one’s life, He becomes your witness that you are His. He literally becomes your advocate.

    Is that not awesome, to have God Himself on your side as a witness and advocate?

    At that point, spells and evil-eyes will be broken and they will not longer have an effect on you because the Holy Spirit is in charge of you, especially given that you asked God to break these vicious influences! 🙂

    God Bless you!

    Reply
  2. Sharon Natsarim

    Amazing timing dear sister! I and a friend just broke the ancestral curses of FreeMasony off our past last night and it has not been uneventful! Lets just say they do not always go peacefully into the good night. But the important thing is that they DO GO! They have to obey His commands, not ours and He left us the authority:) All praise, glory and honor to Him!
    Have NO fear people, Yah/God loves you more than you can know!

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)