Curses – legal ground and how to break them

Curses seem to be more covert in other parts of the world. I could be wrong but they seem to be more of a secret in their plan and execution. Yet, here in Africa, Satan’s agents are rather open about it like it’s nothing. It is part of their daily conversation as if talking about the sky being blue. It’s almost as if a few witches sit around drinking tea, while one of them pipe up, “So anyway, I cursed Anne today.” Being so open about it does have its advantages though, because this way we are quicker to fight back.

My mother received a text message on Saturday from an unknown person who told her he has gone to a Sangoma (Zulu word for witchdoctor) to curse and control her family. See- open! It just so happens that everything has been going wrong in my dad’s business recently – employees are making fatal mistakes and jobs are not getting done like they should. My dad commented that it feels as if “someone is trying to torment him.” Ever felt like that? That’s the symptom of a curse. Torment, confusion about what is happening and destruction. My mom suspects it is one of the new employees who have received two written warnings for consistent late coming. That’s Africa for you.
The purpose of any curse is to destroy, harm or bring ruin and even death to a person. Curses are not only sent to Christians, but to the unsaved too.
A curse is the purpose, the actual thing someone wants done to a person, while the demon is the sending mechanism.
Now not everything that goes wrong is a curse. We live in a fallen world, and trials and temptations will come to purify, grow and strengthen us. But trials and temptations are not meant to stay forever – curses do, until they’re broken. Also, when things go beyond the realm of coincidences, you should seek the Lord’s guidance on whether it is a curse, or just life.

You can receive curses from two reasons.
1. you have given Satan the legal ground to attack and curse you, through sin.
2. you are cursed through no fault or sin of your own. So, you have not given him legal ground to attack, but he does, usually by his agents.

I will go into more detail of what constitutes legal ground with each post. Basically it is sin. God is a very merciful God, yet just. He is just with us, but He is also just with Satan’s kingdom. It is in no way giving glory to Satan, but rules are rules, and God plays by them, and Heaven is run very much on a legal system. Christians fall into the trap very easily of assuming that we are protected no matter what we do. It is not so, and Satan feeds on that lie! We are responsible for our actions, and we cannot just walk around doing whatever we please.

Let me highlight an example, before going into the how to’s of breaking a curse.

I know this woman who has three spirit guides. I went to school with her and have known her since I was 11. I’m sure I will post more about her in the future – we are not friends but her spirit guides detest me for speaking to her about Jesus and have attacked me more than once! She told us this story and is rather proud of it, mind you. Many years ago she had a fight with her boyfriend. She became irate and said to him as he was leaving her house that she was going to put a curse on him to have a major car accident. She did. Ten minutes down the road, he had a major car accident. That is no coincidence – she literally performed a curse and the demons associated with the curse brought it to pass.
Don’t assume that there always has to be an intricate incantation performed with candles and other gross looking satanic paraphernalia in order for a curse to work. That does take place, but curses can come out of words!

If you were the person getting into that car, this is how you would have broken the curse after she spoke those words over you:

“I break that curse placed on me in the name of Jesus Christ! I command all demons associated with that curse to leave me and my car at once in Jesus’ name!”
That’s it. Jesus was not kidding when He said His yoke is light. It really is! There is no ceremony to perform or fancy words to say– it really is as simple as that! Praise God!

Lets’ say you actually gave Satan the legal ground (you sinned) to attack or curse you. This is how you would break it:

“Father, I confess that ______ as sin and repent of it. Forgive me for _____. I now break that curse placed on me in the name of Jesus Christ! I command all demons associated with that curse to leave me at once in Jesus’ name!”

You must take as faith that the curse is broken – anything more you try to do than that will be of your own efforts.You cannot break it yourself – it must be done in Jesus’ name. Jesus said He gave us his authority in Luke 10:19. He’s saying “Here – it’s My authority to trample over evil. Take it and use it!”

But what if you cannot remember what you did that possibly brought on the curse? Maybe it was so long ago? Ask God! He will tell you! He’s not sitting on his throne saying, “Haha! Take a guess!” He is a God that liberates and sets His people free! He wants those chains off of His people! The Holy Spirit once woke me up at 3am to make me write down a long lost sin I had forgotten about so that I did not forget about it in the morning when I woke up. Heaven loves 3am I’ve noticed.

As I write more posts about different types of curses, you can keep in remembrance how to break them, should you identify somewhere that you have a curse placed on you.
I pray that the God of comfort leads you into all truth these next few weeks.

20 thoughts on “Curses – legal ground and how to break them

  1. Tim Shey

    In my experience of breaking curses, whenever I obey the Lord in something that I don’t want to do, a curse is broken. Also, sometimes when the Holy Ghost falls heavily on me, a curse is broken.

    “The anointing breaks the yoke of sin.”

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Tim I love that! I have heard of that before! We serve a great God who does not allow us to always fall on ritual and strict procedure. Thanks for sharing! xx

      Reply
  2. Toni Sprandel

    I really liked this post. Thank you for sharing and it is awesome to know that we can break the curse. In the Name of Jesus! Yes, His yoke is light and He makes it easy for us. Praise the LORD!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Obedience: The Bondage Breaker | The Road

  4. Pingback: Generational Curses | kingintraining

  5. Pingback: Curses through travel: Egypt | kingintraining

  6. Pingback: Curses through travel: Brazil | kingintraining

  7. Pingback: Curses through travel: Statue of Liberty | kingintraining

  8. Pingback: Curses through travel: France | kingintraining

  9. Chrystal

    Very intriguing. Curses have NOT been on my radar before. Just coming to grips with the REALITY of spiritual warfare the past few years. I’ve had several dreams/visions/experiences over the years (both from God & some that are evil) that I’ve struggled with because no one around me has them (that I know about). It’s been a little hard feeling “crazy.” 🙂 I had to smile at the 3 a.m. remark. I find myself awake around that time quite often. Years ago I called it the “bewitching hour” because I just couldn’t go back to sleep but have come to realize that God DOES speak to me a lot about that time. 😉 In fact, I’ve come to enjoy it at 3:30 because that’s when Joyce Meyer has a program on. HA! Reading your posts lately about spiritual warfare, curses, satan’s number made me think of something. A few months ago, I kept waking up at exactly 2:22…at least 2 or 3 or 4 times. I wondered for a while about what this might mean: Bible chapters & verses? Nothing came to mind. A couple of nights ago, (3 am-ish), it came to my mind that 2+2+2=6…if I woke up at this time 3 different nights….hmmmm….

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Yes 3am-the human’s deepest sleep! To be woken up with burning eyes is very hard haha. That’s very interesting about 2:22. I must admit I’m not very clued up about interpreting numbers. But personally when I’m woken up at those exhausting hours its usually God prompting me to pray for something, which turns out to be very important. So its great He’s speaking to you during that time, very special 🙂 Oh, and doesn’t hurt that Joyce Meyers is on! Hehe

      Reply
  10. Pingback: Curses through travel: Hawaii | kingintraining

  11. Dreams Of Dunamis

    Interesting. Our family received more curses from watching Joyce Meyers than we did blessings, so we stopped watching her.

    I laughed when you said “God is not sitting on his throne saying, “Haha! Take a guess!” SO true! (It sounds like that kind of thought was a fiery arrow from the evil one!)

    Our family was visited by an angel of the Lord recently, that told us that my husband was under a curse with his new business, (which was why the company has had no clients for over a year now,) and that it was caused by one of his workers. This man is from India, and has been praying to his gods and asking them to ‘bless’ the business. And in this case, his prayers of blessing to a false demon god was actually cursing the business instead! So the angel told us to verbally break those curses, and to pray daily that those prayers of his would be null and void. The angel told us to pray to the Lord every day in their stead. Just two days after doing this, the company received its first customer! Thank You Jesus Christ of Nazareth!

    Reply
    1. kingintraining Post author

      Praise the Lord in His mercy!
      On another note – LOL – what?? You were VISITED by an angel? I love how you say that all nonchalantly as if it’s an everyday thing LOL 😀 Tell me tell me – what did he look like?? did he stand, did he sit…please do tell all! How incredibly exciting!!

      P.S – Joyce Meyers? That’s a major concern…why? Because she is a woman pastor?

      Reply
      1. Dreams Of Dunamis

        No, it’s not because she is a woman pastor. There have been several things, that caused us to no longer watch her. She used to be one of my favorites. But sometimes she would quote bible passages, and every now and then it would be different from what she was showing up on the screen and saying. So that was the first clue for me. The second one, was when she aligned herself with Rick Warren. Rick Warren is the pied piper of Christianity if there ever was one. (Would you rather be spirit-led or purpose-driven? Oi!) Her celebrating Christmas didn’t help any either. But when she said in one of her performances, that she does not believe that the Lord can speak individually to His children, I remember saying out loud to the T.V., “No! That’s a lie! He does!” At that moment, my kids raced upstairs to where I was sitting, and asked me quite excitedly, if I had just heard the demon scream out in frustration. I had not, but it caused me to stop and turn to the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit then led me to research her, and I discovered that she was one who did not believe that we should ever ask for something from God, and then end it with “if that be your will, Lord.” By refusing to do this, she was turning the name it and claim it stuff into witchcraft. When asked about her great wealth, (you can see her mansion and etc., on line,) she defends it by saying that she deserves it because she earned it. (What about using that great wealth to help the bretheren?) More anguish has come into my life from her preaching, causing me to move away from God’s Word, or to spend days questioning it. It came down to either believing her or God’s Word. So we stopped watching her. (My children were quite relieved.)

        The angel woke up my child in the middle of the night, by its bright calm light. No matter what this child did, closed his eyes, put pillows over his eyes, or even buried his face in the mattress, the light would remain. My child said that the angel had great patience with him, as the angel tried to wake him up. Finally when he was awake, the angel gave him the message. Peace filled the room, and the angel gave praise to the Lord, and told him that we should also give thanks to the Lord for every good thing. The angel was neither male nor female, but was still in a human shape. It was as tall as the ceiling, and seemed to be golden everywhere. (Though that could have been the light.) The light was not something my kid had ever experienced on earth before; he said it belonged solely to heaven.

        I had to laugh when you said that I said it so matter of fact, for I had the same reaction when my son told us about it. If it had happened to me, I would have ran through the entire house, yelling at the top of my lungs, that an angel had just visited me, right in the middle of the night. (Then again, perhaps this is why The Lord did not send the angel to me…!)

        The angel visited us again, about a week later. I shared it with Glynda on her ‘Wings Of Prophecy’ web site:
        http://wingsofprophecy.blogspot.com/2013/07/how-much-i-give-you.html
        There was more that the angel said to us, mostly about praising God and giving Him thanks for everything. The angel also gave us some helpful tips that we could do, to help stretch the ends to meet, and that things would not always be easy, but that we were to keep believing in God always. The angel also gave us some prophecy, that came true within just a few days or so after the visitation. Other confirmations were given to us as well, leaving us to believe that this will really happen.

        I have gotten the feeling, quite strongly from the Lord, that in these end times, there will be those believers who have and are expected to share with other believers, and those who do not have, and must rely on those who do have to give to them in God’s name. I have spoken to others who have also received visits by an angel, almost telling them the same thing. That they would be blessed, but that they were to share with God’s people, and to always give Him the glory and praise. If they did not, the blessing would be removed and given to someone else. I pray that we do not fail Him, and that we always do His will…

        Blessings to you always dear sister,
        C. Dunamis

      2. kingintraining Post author

        HAH! I love that – Spirit led or purpose driven!
        Scary about Joyce, I never have time to watch her so I can’t even begin to comment. I know Theodore Shoebat has massive reservations about her too.

        Super awesome about the angel! I would scream with excitement, so alas, I probably wont get to see one either! LOL

      3. Tim Shey

        Dreams of Dunamis: Thank you for telling me about Joyce Meyer. I haven’t seen her in a number of years. I watched her several times years ago and her message was anointed. If she has aligned herself with Rick Warren, then that does concern me.

        I also like your phrase “would you rather be spirit-led or purpose-driven?”

  12. Pingback: Curses: mocking the enemy | kingintraining

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)